What Wondrous Love with Triduum Verses

Screen Shot 2013-02-18 at 6.59.59 AM

Maundy Thursday Verses

1. What wondrous love is this, O my soul, O my soul?
What wondrous love is this, O my soul?
What wondrous love is this that cause the Lord of bliss
To bear the dreadful curse for my soul, for my soul,
To bear the dreadful curse for my soul?

2. The night before the end of his life, of his life,
The night before the end of his life;
The night before the end my Lord sat with his friends,
And offered them the meal of his death and his life,
He offered them a share in his life.

3. “The ones who share this feast in my name, in my name,
The ones who share this feast in my name;
The ones who share this feast shall know their joy increased,
The reign of grace and peace in my name, in my name,
The reign of grace and peace in my name.”

4. As servent, then, he knelt at their feet, at their feet,
As servant, then, he knelt at their feet;
As servant, then, he knelt, a servant’s towel for belt,
He showed the love he felt at their feet, at their feet,
He showed the love he felt at their feet.

5. “What I have done for you in my love, in my love,
What I have done for you in my love.
What I have done for you, so you are called to do,
To be a servant true in your love, in your love,
To be a servant true in your love.”

6. They sang a hymn of praise unto You, unto You,
They sang a hymn of praise unto You;
They sang a hymn of praise, their hearts and voices raised,
Then he went to his death–unto You, unto You,
Then he went unto his death–unto You.

Good Friday Verses

1. What wondrous love is this, O my soul, O my soul?
What wondrous love is this, O my soul?
What wondrous love is this that cause the Lord of bliss
To bear the dreadful curse for my soul, for my soul,
To bear the dreadful curse for my soul?

2. As you have shown the way, let us love, let us love,
As you have shown the way, let us love;
As you have shown the way, so teach us ev’ry day
To simply be the way of your love, of your love
To simply be the way of your love.

3. Wherever you are found, may we be, may we be,
Wherever you are found, may we be;
Wherever you are found in souls and bodies bound,
Where suffering is found, may we be, may we be,
Where suffering is found, may we be.

4. As instruments of peace, may we grow, may we grow,
As instruments of peace, may we grow;
As instruments of peace to bring the bound release,
And make oppression cease, help us grow, help us grow,
To make oppression cease, help us grow.

5. O let us hear your call to be love, to be love,
O let us hear your call to be love;
O let us hear your call, great servant of us all,
To be the least of all, as your love, as your love,
To be the least of all, as your love.

Holy Saturday / Easter Vigil Verses

1. No more within the grave does he lie, does he lie,
No more within the grave does he lie;
No more within the grave, but risen now to save,
No more within the earth does he lie, does he lie
No more within the earth does he lie.

2. The God who raised my Lord will raise me, will raise me,
The God who raised my Lord will raise me;
The God who raised my Lord, who spoke the living word,
Will shout into my tomb and raise me, and raise me,
Will shout into my tomb and raise me.

3. Up from the holy flood, I will rise, I will rise,
Up from the holy flood, I will rise;
Up from the holy flood, the water and the blood,
To praise the living God, I will rise, I will rise,
To praise the living God, I will rise.

4.To God and to the Lamb, I will sing, I will sing;
To God and to the Lamb, I will sing.
To God and to the Lamb Who is the great “I Am”;
While millions join the theme, I will sing, I will sing;
While millions join the theme, I will sing.

5. And when from death I’m free, I’ll sing on, I’ll sing on;
And when from death I’m free, I’ll sing on.
And when from death I’m free, I’ll sing and joyful be;
And through eternity, I’ll sing on, I’ll sing on;
And through eternity, I’ll sing on.

from the Gather Hymnal
Text: St. I, Alexander Means, 1801-1853; remainder, Marty Haugen, b. 1950, © 1987, GIA Publications, Inc.
Tune: WONDROUS LOVE, 12 9 12 9 12 9; Southern Harmony, 1835; acc. by Marty Haugen, b. 1950, © 1987, GIA Publications, Inc.
Screen Shot 2013-02-18 at 6.59.59 AM